Road Stories


This page is dedicated to the men and women who safely transport Missouri's students to and from school each day.  If you have a driver or attendant in your district who you feel deserves special recognition - whether for a milestone anniversary, or for service "above and beyond" the call of duty - please contact Shirley Francis, MAPT Executive Director, to submit your story. 



The 2017 MAPT Safety Competition was held Thursday, June 20 and Friday, June 21, at School of the Osage, Lake Ozark, MO.  MAPT extends congratulations to the 55 drivers who competed in four cagtagories (Rookie - Conventional Bus; Experienced - Conventional Bus; Rookie - Transit Bus; and Experienced - Transit Bus).


MAPT would also like to thank the men and women who served as judges and scorekeepers for this event; the friends, co-workers and family members who came out to support the contestants; the school districts and contractors who supported this vital safety effort by providing facilities and equipment for the contestants to practice; and our corporate partners who provided financial support in many different ways.


Finally, our sincere thanks to Carol Woods of Jackson R-2 School District and Tony Hatfield of School of the Osage, who again this year co-chaired the event. 


Click to read Carol Woods' newsletter story of the competition, including an up-date on the State winners who competed at the National level.


And the winners are.....


Rookie - Conventional Bus   (maximum possible score 660 points)


1st place:  Ashlee Green, Jackson R-2 School District, 417 points

2nd place:  Anne Lewis, Kansas City School District, 413 points

3rd place:  Heather Butler, Crabtree Transportation, 411 points


Experienced - Conventional Bus   (maximum possible score 660 points)                            

1st place:  Mark Black, Springfield Public Schools, 575 points

2nd place:  Darlene Yurkins, Parkway School District, 510 points

3rd place:  Tammy Smith, Kansas City School District, 492 points


To see the scores for all contestants in the Conventional division, click HERE


Rookie - Transit Bus   (maximum possible score 660 points)  


1st place:  Michelle Richter, Parkway School District, 427 points

2nd place:  Christopher Arnold, Independence School District, 379 points

3rd place: Stephanie Putnam, Independence School District, 365 points


Experienced - Transit Bus   (maximum possible score 660 points)    


1st place:  Lisa Russell, Jackson R-2 School District, 575 points

2nd place: Benny McDowell , Jackson R-2 School District, 554 points

3rd place:  Angela Thomas, Festus School District, 532 points

Lisa Russell (left), overall winner of the 2017 Safety Competition,

from Jackson R-2 School District, with her boss, Transportation

Director and MAPT Region 6 Director Carol Woods


To see the scores for all contestants in the Transit division, click HERE


TOP 3 TEAMS  (maximum possible score 1,980 points)

1st place:  Jackson R-2 School District, with 1,612 points

                  Lisa Russell, Brenda Harris and Benny McDowell

2nd place:  Festus School District, with 1,509 points

                  Angela Thomas, Joan Rupp and Lynette Lammert

3rd place:  Springfield Public Schools, with 1,473 points

                  Dawn Southard, Mark Replogle and Mark Black


To see all of the Team scores, click HERE